What to do with Fiddle Heads

Standard

It’s such a delicacy here in Maine. We wait for those tasty little fern sprouts to arrive in the spring. At my house, my Polish husband thinks fiddle heads are like eating grass, so I get to eat all of them. I also blanch a few batches and then freeze them so I can enjoy them in the winter. I hide my stash from my brother.spring fernsFiddle heads are also delicious cooked in water, drained and served with salt, pepper and melted butter.

Spring FernsTodays dish will be with sundried tomato pesto, pasta and fiddle heads…..fresh ingredients for pesto are grated parmesan, nuts, basil, sundried tomatoes, garlic and salt & pepper

Leszek's creationThe final product is a delicious pasta dish with the sundried tomato pesto, goat cheese and fiddle heads

Forget about the carbs

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

